Saturday, March 10, 2012

Local: Elections office validating candidates' signatures; Friday marked end of candidacy filing period

As of 5 p.m., all candidates who have announced their intention to run had filed paper work. The filing period for the 1st District supervisor's seat will stay open until March 14 with incumbent Jimmy Smith deciding not to seek reelection. - Donna Tam/Times-Standard

...Rex Bohn filed his paperwork for the 1st District race, along with Eureka resident and retired school teacher Annette De Modena and former Wiyot Tribal Chairwoman Cheryl Seidner.

In the 2nd District, current 2nd District Humboldt County Supervisor Clif Clendenen and former Humboldt Coalition for Property Rights Executive Director Estelle Fennell both filed their paperwork.

Current 3rd District Humboldt County Supervisor Mark Lovelace and Bayside resident and former Assembly candidate Karen Brooks filed their paperwork for the 3rd District.

Assemblymen Wesley Chesbro, D-Arcata, was the only candidate to file for the District 2 Assembly race.

The Fortuna Union Elementary School District had 11 candidates file paperwork for the five board seats -- two members from each ward and one at-large member. An interim board is in place until June.

For the Fortuna Ward, the candidates are John Miller, Times-Standard Circulation Director Peter Fennell and interim board members Don Brown and Janice Olkin. For the Rohnerville Ward, the candidates are Paul Glennie, interim board member Richard Barsanti, Marilyn Strehl and Daniel Coleman.

At-large candidates include Robert L. Long, Kendra Dwelley Guimaraes and interim board member Kenneth A. Steele.